Pineapple Upside Down Cake Jelly Shots

I turn 30 this year.  I have come to the jello shot game pretty late, but I’m making up for it by producing delicious gelatinous versions of some of my favorite cocktails.  I haven’t shared any of the recipes here before, mostly because I haven’t photographed them, which… shame on me.  They’re tasty.  The one piece of advice that I can give you for any type of jello shots, is if you’re using real ingredients (not Jell-O mix), make sure the flavor is over the top.  It needs to be sweeter than a sane person would willingly drink.  Think Mai Tai or pretty much any super sweet tiki drink.

Pineapple Upside Down Cake Jelly Shots

I made these as a cocktail a few months ago as a way to try to use up some of the remaining Birthday Cake Vodka that I had, and they were loved by everyone.  I had a bachelorette party to go to this weekend, which proved to be the perfect excuse to turn this super girly drink into a great jello shot.

Pineapple Upside Down Cake Jelly Shots

So I did.  I did a little testing in terms of strength before jellifying it, and found that a 1:1 ratio seemed to work perfectly.  If you’re in the US, chances are you’re going to be able to find unflavored Knox gelatin in powder.  My recipe uses that, as it is what is most available to me. I’m not sure what the gelatin sheet conversion is.  For a sturdy jello shot, you want to go with 1 cup of liquid per packet of gelatin.  This makes them stable at room temperature and sturdy enough to hold together as you pull them out of molds or cut them.   And a word of warning – if you’re using silicone ice cube trays like I do, be sure to get the freezer smell out of them.  It’s not terribly apparent with ice, but there’s something about the alcohol content that absorbs every wayward flavor.  I ended up having to throw out all of the shots from the green mold because even after a baking soda soak, then a vinegar soak, then a run through the dishwasher, the flavor was still apparent in the gelatin.  The blue one got the same treatment and tasted fine.

Pineapple Upside Down Cake Jelly Shots

Ingredients
1.5 cups canned pineapple juice
3 packets Knox gelatin
1.5 cups cake or vanilla vodka
nonstick cooking spray (don’t use coconut oil.  it solidifies and gets ugly)
maraschino cherries if desired (these give you a really pretty red gradient)

Instructions
*Measure out pineapple juice in a heat resistant cup large enough to hold everything.
*Sprinkle gelatin evenly over pineapple juice, making sure all of the gelatin gets moist
*Allow gelatin to bloom for 5-10 minutes and heat until totally liquefied. I microwaved it.
*Allow to cool additional 10-45 minutes.
*Add Vodka, stir, and pour into molds/loaf pan that have been sprayed with nonstick spray. Add cherries if desired.
*Chill in fridge overnight or for 6+ hrs
*Remove from molds or loaf pan. Cut into cubes if you used loaf pan.
*Enjoy responsibly

Leave a Reply

