I won’t be curing olives this year.

I had high hopes earlier this year when my young olive tree had generated several small olives, roughly the size of the head of a pin.  Then when the weather heated up and stayed hot, I let myself get optimistic, thinking that this may help push them along, despite the tree theoretically being far too young to actually produce anything edible.  But I checked on them the other day.  I have olives,  I just don’t have enough to make it worth my while either try to extract oil from them, or to lye cure and try eating them.  All in all, I’d say my olive total is in the neighborhood of ten.

arbequina olives, second year

arbequina olives, second year

C’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

