Tasty Salmon Cakes

Craig and I had some delicious wild caught Copper River sockeye salmon the other night for dinner.  I cooked some extra, knowing that we would be making some salmon cakes.  This was a great way to use up extra leftover salmon. I wanted to go with a classic northeastern flavor, so we stuck with old bay, lemon, and dijon.  I have seen where people use canned salmon and just pick out the bones and skin (btw – sick.)

salmon cakes

Paleo Salmon Cakes (Makes approx 20)

Mixture (all aproximates)
1lb cooked wild caught salmon, broken up into small pieces
1/2 bell pepper, minced
1 large rib celery, minced
3 tablespoons white or yellow onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, pressed or grated
zest and juice of half a lemon
Old Bay to taste (I probably used a couple teaspoons)
1-2 tablespoons dijon mustard

Binder
1-3 eggs
nut or coconut meal/flour (I used hazelnut, because that’s what I had on hand) plus extra for coating

salmon cakes

salmon cakes

*Mix all of your salmon mixture ingredients up, then start adding eggs and nut flour a bit at time until you get a cohesive and somewhat sticky mixture.  I think I ended up with 2 eggs and however much hazelnut meal it took to make them not “wet.”  This whole thing varies greatly with the amount of juice in the lemon, how wet your salmon was, etc. Just like with homemade pasta dough, you just keep adding bits of things til it’s “right.”
*Heat up some high temp oil (I used avocado oil) in a nonstick or relatively nonstick (if you have a good relationship with your cast iron skillet, this may be a good way to put it to the test) pan, just enough to actually coat the bottom of the pan effectively.
*Form your patties.  I basically just made tiny but thick hamburgers, then “breaded” them in the hazelnut flour.  You could easily skip this step, but I feel like it helped protect the salmon a little from getting destroyed by the heat and also got me a crispy crust (which is what I was craving).
*Fry your patties in your skillet.  On my stove, the temp was 3/10, so medium low.  I fried for probably 3-5 minutes on each side.
*Ta-Da!  I ate these over a bed of lettuce that had been dressed with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  They were topped with a combination of homemade avocado oil mayo and some Crystal hot sauce, and then a huge pile of freshly ground black pepper.

salmon cakes

salmon cakes

salmon cakes

I will definitely make extra salmon again and use this preparation for it.  I wasn’t entirely sure if I’d enjoy them, but I did, and the overwhelming versatility that these have is really great!

salmon cakes

Leave a Reply

