(Mostly) Homemade Potstickers

I found these photos fairly recently and didn’t realize that I had never posted them on my blog.  Since I haven’t been sharing too many recipes lately, I figured I might as well post this before it disappears into the ether entirely.

Ginger Pork Potstickers

I’ve mentioned before that Ruhlman’s Ginger Sage Pork Breakfast Sausage recipe tastes alarmingly similar to many potsticker fillings.  So I mixed up a batch, and added some grated, salted, then rinsed cabbage to a few cups of sausage, and went to town.
First off, start with your sausage/cabbage mixture.  I’m willing to bet finely chopped and sauteed (to cook of some of the excessive moisture) mushrooms would be grand here.
Ginger Pork Potsticker filling

Get out your posticker/gyoza wrappers.  I got mine from the local asian supermarket, however my QFC also has them in the refrigerated section next to the tofu.
potsticker wrappers
Lay out 4 or so wrappers (I found that this was my wet-workable time limit) and either mist them with a squirt bottle or wet your finger and run it around the circumference of the circle to make sure everything is moist.
potsticker wrappers

Place about a tablespoon of filling (I used 2 spoons to shape it into this ellipses shape) in the center of each wrapper.
filling and folding potstickers

And fold as shown:
filling and folding potstickers

Keep one side flat and make pleats on the other side.

filling and folding potstickers

filling and folding potstickers

Continue until you’ve either run out of filling or wrappers!  If I run out of filling before I run out of wrappers, I love to put some nutella, beets & chevre, or cream cheese & stewed rhubarb inside the extras!  They also freeze beautifully.  I often freeze a sheet pan full of them, then when I’m ready to eat, start off with the pan.  There’s no downside to cooking directly from frozen.
potstickers ready to be cooked

Then it’s time to cook.  Use a nonstick pan (they’re called potstickers for a reason) and hit it with a little oil.  Heat to medium low, and then place your potstickers inside.
cooking homemade potstickers

Allow to brown for a few moments before adding 1/4 cup water or so (just enough to coat bottom of pan) and then cover with a loose fitting lid.
cooking homemade potstickers

cooking homemade potstickers

cooking homemade potstickers
cooking homemade potstickers

When most of the moisture has evaporated, remove the lid and allow all of the moisture to evaporate.
cooking homemade potstickers

Carefully flip them.  The skins on these are a bit more fragile than commercially produced gyoza.

cooking homemade potstickers
Allow them to brown on the second side, then remove to a plate.  I usually make a simple dipping sauce which is a 1:3 ratio of rice vinegar:tamari sauce.
Ginger Pork homemade potstickers

Leave a Reply

