Delicious homemade green falafel

Ok.  I’m gonna be honest here.  I haven’t made falafel in quite some time.  These photos are from like a year ago. But, it doesn’t make them any less relevant.  I hadn’t actually made falafel before coming upon this recipe during my pretty hardcore clean eating kick last year, and it intrigued me because I got to use my meat grinder!!!!  Regardless, I have kind of taken it upon myself to make a few changes.  Here you go!
Ground up falafel mixture

4 cups garbanzo beans/chickpeas
3 medium-large white or yellow onions, cut into large chunks
5-10 cloves garlic, thinly sliced, chopped, whatever
2 bunches parsley, rinsed thoroughly, stems chopped off
2-4 jalapenos, cleaned ribs removed if you don’t like too much heat
1-2 T diamond crystal kosher salt (less is you’re using mortons)
2 tablespoons cumin

*2-4 days before you plan to make your falafel, soak and sprout your beans.  Or don’t sprout them, you can just soak them overnight also, then just drain before assembling.
*When you’re ready to go, start running the mixture through your meat grinder (on the smallest setting).  I usually would grind some beans, then throw a hunk of onion in, then some parsley, etc.  Don’t grind all your onion at once.  It gets super watery and pretty gross.  Alternatively, you can finely chop the onions and parsley, and this will prevent your mixture from turning green.  I kind of like the cast it takes, so I just grind everything.  Less effort.
*Grind everything.  Stir in spices.  Alternatively, you can use a food processor. I have not tried this, so I can’t make any assertions to how it affects the texture of the patties.

Ground up falafel mixture
Mix thoroughly, then form into patties. I suggest making one patty, then cooking it and tasting for seasoning.  You can then adjust as necessary.  I can fit 35 of them on a half-sized sheet pan.  I then freeze them, then pop them off the silpat and stick them in a gallon sized freezer bag.  When I want some falafel, all I have to do is heat up my pan, pop several out of the bag into the pan, and crisp up.  You can fry these up, as is traditional, or do what I do, put a little bit of olive oil in a nonstick pan, and gently cook through until crispy on one side, flip over, and crisp on the other.  Not quite as good as deep frying, but you don’t have to have that much oil on hand. 
green falafel patties
They’re great in a lettuce wrap, on top of a salad, with lamb meatballs, whatever, really.  I’ve even served these as hors d’oeuvres, topped with a cucumber yogurt sauce and a little thinly sliced bell pepper.  
Nutrition Info, Per Patty (1/35th of this recipe) excluding oil for frying:
Calories: 35
Carbs: 6g
Fiber: 1g
Fat: 1g
Protein: 2g

Leave a Reply

