Delicious Steak Salad – 418 calories

Craig and I are on a weight-loss kick.  I lost about 20lbs doing very low carb eating a couple years ago, felt great, then went off for the month of December.  Come January, we tried other less restrictive methods of eating, but despite making an effort at eating healthier, all of that weight, plus 5lbs came back.  I am fat, and need to drop weight, both for my health, and so I look better naked!  This time, I’m doing it the “old fashioned” way, not doing any fad diets or extremely restrictive ways of eating.  I’m sure there will stumbling blocks along the way, but I’d love to get to my wedding weight.  We are simply cutting back on calories, with a tendency to avoid carbs, just because they don’t tend to keep you that full, and they’re not good for you, metabolically.  Breakfast is usually an egg and 2 egg whites, cooked in a little grassfed butter, or a little cottage cheese, or some chicken with hot sauce.  Something simple, and under 300 calories.  Lately for lunch, I’ve been having a can of tuna mixed with some rice vinegar, sriracha, and some pickles.  It kind of sucks, but keeps me full til dinner, when I can eat what I feel like is a satisfying meal.  Sometimes it’s a burrito bowl, sometimes it’s miso glazed tofu with sweet chili and soy sauce based dipping sauce.  This week, it’s been hot, so we are having salads.  I was hungry on Tuesday afternoon and dreaming of a big juicy steak.  I redirected that desire into a big steak salad with funky bleu cheese dressing and big chunks of juicy tomato.  I assembled first the dressing on the scale in my blender, then the salad in a pie plate on my scale, which made A) eating it easier, as the pie plate is huge B)tabulating calories easier as I could determine just how much of everything I added.

Bleu Cheese dressing
Salemville Amish Gorgonzola Cheese – 80g
Creme Fraiche/Sour Cream – 40g
Rice Vinegar – 80g
Buttermilk – 80g

Combine all ingredients in blender… blend.  After scraping out the blender, I ended up with about 240g, so I input that into myfitnesspal as a recipe with 240 servings, so now I can make the dressing, and weigh my salad before I add it, then input the number of grams I put on the salad as servings, and be accurate.

delicious bleu cheese and steak salad, under 425 calories

Salad Ingredients
Organic Spring Mix Greens – 85 g – 25 calories
Salemville Amish Gorgonzola Cheese – 15 g – 50 calories
Grassfed Flank Steak(nearly fat free, really, VERY lean) – 150g (5.5oz) – 125 calories
Heirloom Tomato, Raw – 150g – 27 calories
Bleu Cheese Dressing – 60g – 191 calories

The dressing made this salad.  I’m making this salad again tonight, however I’ll be using 40 g of dressing and splashing rice vinegar around on top to make some additional liquid.  I did it with a semi-cobb salad last night and it was delicious.

Nutrition –
Calories – 418
Carbs – 18g
Fiber – 5g
Fat – 22g
Protein – 39g

Leave a Reply

