I took MFing 7th in this month’s rifle match!!!

Ok, not 1st, but a hell of a lot better than I normally do.  Craig took 2nd.  This was probably the best I’ve shot at a rifle match yet.  I didn’t make any stupid mistakes or fuck myself over.  I usually finish in the bottom third, and this match I finished in almost the top third (I tied for 5th place points-wise, but had the longest time of the 3 of us, so ended up with 7th).  This is mostly just a post to share photos from the match – I used my cell phone to take the shots, so nothing is… great, but at least they’re photos.  Below I’ll include the stage descriptions and then my notes on what I did.
scope corrections for rifle match

shooting from a tripod

STAGE 1.  In the Box  15 rounds/150 seconds max
Begin Port arms, empty chamber.  After start signal, load with up to 15 rounds.  While not allowing any part of shooter or rifle to touch the ground outside of the box, engage T1-T8, and repeat in that order until 15 rounds have been fired.  One point per hit.  15 points possible.

The first stage of the day is always the most difficult for me.  I have a huge adrenaline dump, which makes me shaky and that translates into making hits on farther away targets much more difficult.  I made 7 hits, but took too long trying to hit target 8, and just couldn’t get steady enough.
shooting from a tripod

staging to shoot

shooting from a tripod

shooting from a tripod

shooting from a tripod

shooting from a tripod

shooting from a tripod


STAGE 2. Pick a port  12 rounds/120 seconds max
Begin at low ready with up to 12 rounds loaded in rifle.  After start signal, fire 2 rounds ONLY from top of doghouse attempting to hit T1 and T2.  Then enter the doghouse, and using only ports ajacent to a wall, engage all remaining targets in order (T2-T8, or T3-T8) by firing only 2 rounds through each port selected.  If the shooter successfully hits all 8 targets, and has rounds left, they may return to begin shooting T1-T4 until all 12 rounds have been fired.  1 point per hit.  12 points possible.


I took my time on this, and took 6 shots.  I hit all the targets with the first round and got 6 points.  


STAGE 3.  Right or left    16 rounds/120 seconds
Using the right angle props.  Begin standing behind an empty rifle.  After start signal, load with up to 16 rounds, and engage 4 targets from right shoulder/side, and 4 targets from left shoulder/side.  Targets are to be engaged far, near, far near:  T8 then T1, T7 then T2, T6 then T3, T5 then T4.  Shooter may use up to 8 rounds per side.  8 points possible.


I did a pretty good job on this, but I didn’t number the ranges and corrections for the targets, and confused myself and couldn’t decide which correction to make.  So I waffled and ended up wasting just enough time to not be able to take my last shot. 7 points.

spotting hits

shooting prone

shooting prone

shooting prone

shooting prone

managing the staging area

strike a pose!

shooting prone


STAGE 4.  It is in the cards   8 rounds/10 seconds per shot
Shooter begins in prone position with rifle loaded with up to 8 rounds.  Next to the shooter are 8 playing cards, shuffled so the cards are in random order.  Cards will be Ace,2,3,4,5,6,7,8.   Each shot will be timed at 10 seconds.  Once in position, the range officer will say :”Make ready, Stand by.” Within about 5 seconds, the timer will sound.  Shooter will have 10 seconds to turn over a card, and engage that target.  Between shots there will be a delay, long enough for the range officer to again say: “Make Ready, Stand by.”  And the timer will sound again.   8 points possible.

I expected this to be a lot harder than it was.  It was pretty easy to make the correction, locate the target and make your shot in 10 seconds.   I made all 8 hits.  8 points.
Chatting between stages

shooting prone

shooting prone

shooting prone
And here I am… totally thrilled with having shot better than normal.  I’m pretty sure it was the unicorn shirt.
Can you see how excited I am?

Leave a Reply

