Clean eating meal planning

So… we’ve been doing this clean eating thing for a few months now, and let me tell you… it’s time consuming.    It’s also pretty hellish if you do not make a plan as there’s not really any convenience food sitting around the house.  We’ve redoubled our efforts in meal planning, and I figured I’d share a few photos that I snapped over the last few days.

Grating zucchini

Friday, I tried a recipe for zucchini tots that I found on pinterest.  I love zucchini fritters/patties, and these are basically the same recipe I use for those, except baked in a mini-muffin tin.  I have a somewhat recent obsession with “mini food” after watching Mermaids for the first time in a couple decades, and these just looked so fun and so festive.  Unfortunately, the most important part of the recipe seems to have been left out.  And that part is to USE A NONSTICK MINI MUFFIN TIN.  It turns out that no matter how much olive oil you spray your tin with, your “tots” will stick if you tin is a standard aluminum variety.

Zucchini tots

I had a little extra zucchini mixture when I had finished filling my muffin tin, so I decided to pan fry it and snack while we prepped the other parts of our dinner.  The standard patties were fabulous.  I did not take finished photos of the “tots” that I had to rip to shreds and generally mangle to get out of the tin, which I then had to soak overnight and scrub the crap out of to get the stuck-on zucchini and egg bits out of the tiny little holes.  Fuck zucchini tots.

Zucchini tots

The meal plan goes as such:

Dinners- 
Tuesday – Lemon quinoa salad with asparagus and tomatoes + fish (if i can find a good sale) or chicken 
Wednesday- Fit salad thing 
Thursday – Lettuce wrap with chicken, basil-arugula pesto, tomatoes, and mozzarella 
Friday – Quinoa with edamameparm & egg  
Monday – Kale & Quinoa salad with grilled meat/fish 
  
Lunches and shit –  
cucumber/tomato/avocado/cottage cheese mixture
Leftovers
Lemon quinoa salad with asparagus and tomatoes + chicken

I did my big grocery trip for the week and set about prepping for the week’s meals and snacks, as well as prepping components for the dogs’ meals, as we’ll be out of town this weekend and my mother in law will be feeding and hanging out with them, so simplicity is key.

I spent last night cutting up 3lbs strawberries; ripping up a bunch of kale; roasting sweet potatoes, cubed beets, and cubed butternut squash; steaming broccoli, cutting up ham, grating cheese, and whisking eggs for the mini crustless quiches I made(in a nonstick muffin tin); washing and drying fruits and vegetables before putting them away; sauteing beet greens and kale for doggy dinners; and peeling oranges and bananas, then portioning things out into baggies for preportioned smoothie packs for the freezer.

Homemade smoothie packs

Leave a Reply

