Tomato taste test – stupice, taxi yellow, & glacier

I am growing almost all new tomatoes this year. I focused on extra early varieties due to the horrific and cold weather last year. And I’m glad I did! It’s been super cold this summer. I was able to get 3 different varieties off the vines this evening and decided to do a side by side taste test.
     

Left to right- stupice(pronounced stew-peach-ka) is a Russian variety, taxi yellow is the only yellow tomato I’m growing this year, and Glacier is another super early red. Neither Craig nor I were particularly impressed with the taxi yellow. It was fine but not nuanced. The stupice was bright, clean and very fresh and we would make a caprese salad with it. Comparably, the Glacier was sweeter, more robust, and tasted of tomato sauce or ketchup. We both think that it would be great with a hamburger tomato…. except for the size of course, each of these tomatoes was only about an inch in diameter. An interesting aside, I chopped up some dill on this cutting board earlier this evening and Craig noted that his slice of tomato tasted of dill. Whoops.

Leave a Reply

