You ever make quiche? I do, try it!

My husband, Craig, who purportedly hates both pastry of any kind, as well as “eggy” dishes will happily gobble down quiche. Know why? It’s tasty and pretty simple to throw together with leftovers.

First you start with your crust. You can use a frozen one. I’m not particularly fond of them and prefer using Cook’s Illustrated’s recipe for the perfect vodka crust. It’s easy, albeit a little time consuming. I swap out home-rendered leaf lard for shortening. Pig fat always tastes better.
Pastry mat

Pie crust

Pie crust

Pie crust

Pie crust

Pie Crust

Pie Crust

Pie Crust

Once your crust has been assembled, poked with a fork, etc, freeze it. Then line with foil and bake it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes or so.
Blind Baking Pie Crust

Then remove your foil(carefully!) and pop the crust back into the oven for another 10-15 minutes til it seems fairly solid.
Blind Baking Pie Crust

Blind Baking Pie Crust

Now prep your ingredients.Quiche Ingredients

I started by sauteeing my mushrooms
Sauteeing mushrooms

And got everything else grated and chopped up and ready to be added to the crust.
prepped quiche ingredients

Here are the egg mixture ingredients.
prepped quiche ingredients

I think I used a dozenish eggs, about a cup of cream, and salt and pepper. Once the crust comes out of the oven, start layering in your fillings. I did 2 layers of each, weighting the second layer of cheese (which should be the top)heavier than the first.
layering quiche filling

layering quiche filling

layering quiche filling

Then pour in your whisked up egg/cream + salt and pepper mixture. Then pop it in the oven.
layering quiche filling

Bake it until it’s no longer liquidy in the center (it will continue to firm up after it comes out of the oven) when shaken gently. I removed mine about 20 minutes into baking as the pie crust edges seemed to be browning up a little. To prevent them from burning, I make some protector thingies out of foil to cover up the crust a little.
Baked quiche

foil strips to prevent crust from burning

foil strips to prevent crust from burning

Let it cool down and either eat slightly warm, at room temp, or cold! I generally refrigerate the quiche prior to serving it as it helps to solidify the filling considerably.
baked quiche

Other good fillings:
Spinach
Bacon
Chevre (drool!)
Spam!
Basically any leftovers that aren’t going to exude large volumes of liquid when baked

Warm custardy quiche

One thought on “You ever make quiche? I do, try it!

  1. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! I just wanted to let you know I stopped by and loved it! I think I will try this recipe very soon, it looks delicious!
    By the way, my name is Bri and I live in Erie, PA. Keep up the good work on your wonderful blog!
    Here is my blog if you want to check it out!: http://faithhopelove-bri.blogspot.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

