Pasta Puttanesca – or Whore Pasta

Craig prefers it when I refer to this dish as “whore pasta.” I think it’s a little more exciting when it has colorful language in the name. I made it for dinner tonight. Mostly because I had this huge heirloom tomato from the grocery store that was starting to get a little iffy. Puttanesca is loosely translated as “of whores”, so pasta puttanesca is whore pasta. The concept is that whores don’t have a lot of time to put dinner on the table, they’re too busy collecting money for their penis servicing skills. The point is, you throw a bunch of flavorful elements that are probably in your pantry into a pan, cook it for as long as it takes the pasta to cook (dry pasta that is) and then serve it. The pasta elements are generally: tomato, garlic, anchovy (not puttanesca w/o anchovies), peppers, capers, and olives. Olive oil is also pretty important. Don’t use preserved lemons in yours. I gave it a shot and was not working off of a recipe. It was not the best choice I could have made. I’d probably double the olives and eliminate the preserved lemons entirely. I made the pasta myself. I was dying for some fresh fettuccine, so I made it.

ANYWAY…. the ingredients. Homemade pasta dough (I started the dough, then let it rest as I chopped everything for the sauce up), red pepper flakes, pitted kalamata olives, capers, nice anchovies(please don’t be weird about these, you can’t taste them, but they add SO MUCH to the flavor of the sauce), canned diced tomatoes and/or fresh tomatoes. Pretend that you see olive oil and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar in this photo.
Puttanesca Ingredients

Chop your stuff up and put it in a bowl or just toss it into a preheated frying pan with a few tablespoons of olive oil as you get it chopped.
Puttanesca Ingredients

Puttanesca Sauce Simmering

Let’s talk pasta. I made 2 eggs of pasta. That’s how fresh pasta is measured when actually made at home and not purchased. It was more than the 2 of us ate, but 1 egg wouldn’t have been enough, so it was perfect. Just the right amount for the sauce and now we have some leftovers! The spread below is 1 of 2 eggs rolled out.
Fresh Pasta Dough

This is all of my pasta rolled out.
Fresh Pasta Dough

Then I ran it through my fettuccine cutter.
Cutting Fresh Fettuccine

Cutting Fresh Fettuccine

Then draped it over the KA til I got about half cut, then tossed it into a large pot of rapidly boiling salted water.
Cooking fresh pasta

When the pasta floats (that should be pretty much immediately with fresh pasta, I waited til it came back to a boil), remove the pasta, and set aside in a bowl with some olive oil.Cooking fresh pasta

Then add your second batch of pasta when the water comes back to a boil.
Cooking fresh pasta

Cooking fresh pasta

Cooking fresh pasta

Then add the cooked pasta to your whore sauce and mix.
Pasta Puttanesca

Plate and top with some shaved parmesan cheese. Consume with a glass of rich red wine like a west coast cabernet or merlot.
Pasta Puttanesca

Pasta Puttanesca

Craig is a well-known pasta-hater. He is wholly unwilling to eat any kind of “traditional sauce,” even homemade version (many!), and he gobbled this up, had seconds, and happily discussed changes that he’d want done next time(that weren’t remove the pasta and the sauce). I’ll try this next week with more olives and no preserved lemons. Please try puttanesca. Even if you’re not using a real recipe. Go with what you have, lean it towards what you like, and go from there.

Leave a Reply

