Busted my ass in the yard

For approximately the last week.  Last Sunday Craig’s mom lit a fire under our asses and offered up her and Craig’s dad’s services (labor) in getting a plethora of small projects wrapped up.

So on Monday and Tuesday, then Friday and Saturday we worked our butts off, and had about 4-5 yards of topsoil delivered to fill in the bed that I built last spring and neglected to do the lasagna composting technique that I was planning to. The lawn needed to be shaped desperately, it had outgrown it’s edges by feet and was in general disrepair. The front garden beds were ugly. Well, they’re still ugly but now we have most of the plants cleared out so we can put in a front porch this summer. And the bottom of the yard was full of weeds. And a stand for my Jonah Japanese Maple needed to get built. And a bunch of other stuff.

I promised myself that if I got everything done, I’d treat myself and go to Flower World to get plants to fill in the bed that soil is finally in. And I got everything but spreading the remainder of the soil out done. That’ll be a project for one evening this week. So I went to Flower World anyway. Then I spent $127. Oops.

Photobucket

I built this little bed next to one of the decks that I’ve been wanting for the last year but never got around to building. It’s a salad greens garden. I planted some butter lettuce, something curly, and then planted seeds for a red and green “cooks blend” mix.

Photobucket

Here’s the north side of the deck. I got a rose-colored hydrangea too.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Look at this clematis!!! It has double flowers. I didn’t want to get a clematis but then I saw this and couldn’t help myself. Plus it bloom on old wood which means I don’t have to constantly prune it to keep it flowering all over.

Photobucket

I got this pot for free when I bought another pot. The bottom was broken out of it which made it free and perfect for burying to add some hardscape style interest to the garden.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Salvia, echinacea, daphne odora, honeysuckle vine, and of course some enormous azaleas that we pulled out from the front and planted in this bed, a slightly shadier spot should give them some relief.

Here’s the “done” version of the bed.

Photobucket

Here’s the before.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And the old foggy edge of the lawn

Photobucket

Here’s what it looks like now. Totally ready for me to plant a bunch of perennials to fill in between the shrubs.

Photobucket

And some of my favorite plants.

Photobucket

This is an “Innocence” Mock Orange. It’s COATED in buds ready to pop.

Photobucket

This guy’s on the verge of opening.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And my Grandmother’s Peony. Well, it’s a portion of her peony. I don’t actually remember anything about it, so I’m pretty excited for this single bud to open so I can find out what the blooms look – and more importantly – smell like.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Here are my hanging baskets. They have fuschias and something else in them. Geraniums maybe? Not sure. Anyway, I was hoping they’d start trailing soon. No such luck so far. :-/

Photobucket

Here’s the bed next to our bedroom deck. I have 2 varieties of honeysuckle planted there. Next summer we should be able to open our bedroom door at night and have the scent of honeysuckle waft in. That’s my romanticized plan. We’ll see how it goes.

Photobucket

Here’s the Jonah tree’s new and hopefully permanent spot, out of full sun. The leaves were starting to get sunburnt. I think it looks nice. 🙂

Photobucket

My dahlias are finally coming up. Hopefully this summery weather holds out and we don’t go back into a pattern of 50º and rainy 6 days a week with an occasional sun-break.

Photobucket

And my raised veggie beds. Tomatoes have pretty much completely taken over the left one. I figured I’ll leave them to their devices and see what happens. Most of them are volunteers from last year’s dropped fruit.

Photobucket

Look at my peas! They’re crazy scary. They are more than 6 feet tall! I’m 5’8″ and when I climb up on the side of the bed, I can just barely see the top of that frame. And they’re higher than that!

Photobucket

Next up, I spread the remainder of the soil and tackle the front.

One thought on “Busted my ass in the yard

Leave a Reply

