Stuffed portabella mushrooms with pantry red sauce and sun-shaped pasta

QFC had stuffed portabella mushrooms on sale. Normally I’m the last person to fall for “pre-packaged ready-to-go” stuff, but they were stuffed with spinach, mozzarella, and herbs only, and were cheaper than buying just the mushrooms on their own. And I’m a sucker for a deal. So I bought them, popped em in the oven and tried to figure out what to serve with them after the fact.

Photobucket

I ended up with a mixture of diced canned tomatoes, tomato paste, butter, balsamic vinegar, crushed garlic, and dried oregano and basil. Then I mixed in some leftover sautéed and cubed chicken breast for protein. It was the best pasta sauce I’ve ever had in my life. It was truly magical. I can’t really describe it adequately, so I’ll just tell you it was AWESOME!!!

Photobucket

And I cooked up some of the fancy sun-shaped pasta that I promised to show you at some point. Everything came together beautifully, and after slicing up the mushroom and giving everything a drizzle of balsamic vinegar, I went to town on that plate!

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

