Rainbow potatoes, chicken, and mushroom cream sauce

Man. I came up with this sauce a few weeks ago on a whim because I had a 1/2 gallon of cream and 4 lbs of mushrooms in my refrigerator. I couldn’t be happier with it. Here’s the formula – a bunch of crimini mushrooms, cleaned and sliced (you could use white button mushrooms, but costco has criminis for like $.50 more, and they’re way better), sauté in some butter with a little thyme, sage, or rosemary and a pressed or finely minced garlic clove.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Once the mushrooms have browned, deglaze the pan with 1/2 cup of red wine

Photobucket

When most of that is reduced, add in 1/2 cup of cream and stir it in.

Photobucket

Let it simmer and reduce

Photobucket

When the sauce has reduced to the point that you can leave trails with your spoon, pull it off the heat, it’s done. Taste and season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Photobucket

I also had a bunch of rainbow potatoes in my pantry, from a recent trip to costco. They were all new potatoes, red skinned with white flash, brown skinned with yellow flesh, and purple skinned with purple flesh. I washed then chopped them up into small chunks and sautéed them in some bacon grease. Yes, I have a jar of bacon grease that I keep in the fridge. That shit is TASTY!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I like to try to include a protein with all of our meals, and chicken strips were on sale at the grocery store, so I seared up some of those with some salt and pepper.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Everything plated up – so tasty.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

