The greatest cookies ever to have existed

Truly. I’ve NEVER been a fan of molasses cookies. Or ginger snaps. Or molasses. I don’t even know why I made this recipe save for the adorable picture on Martha Stewart’s website, and my need to make even more types of Christmas cookies this year. I’m freaking glad I tried these because I almost fainted when I took my first bite. And that’s saying a lot, I was on a sugar high after spending my entire afternoon and evening baking cookies.

Photobucket

I’d also like you to know, that I really hate molasses. Yes, I know, repetitive. I’d even like you to know that I gagged a little when I opened up my jar of it to measure some out for the cookies. I considered tossing the butter-sugar-egg mixture and canceling my plan to bake those particular cookies. Luckily for you (and not so luckily for my thighs), I soldiered through and made the dough, half expecting to throw the entire batch out.

Photobucket

They are rolled in sugar, similar to the method used for snickerdoodles, to create a crinkly, crusty finish. This seemed like a DELICIOUS plan, the outside is my favorite part of snickerdoodles.

Photobucket

The way these bake up is magical. They are mostly butter, so as soon as it melts, they instantly spread out and puff just a tiny bit. Then when they come out of the oven, they instantly deflate and turn into large, super flat discs that one would expect to be remarkably similar to crackers. But they’re not. Oh no they’re not! They have the crinkly crusty exterior that snickerdoodles boast, but the molasses keeps them pliable and chewy. Certainly the most amazing texture I’ve ever experienced.

Photobucket

Plus they store wonderfully too. A week is cake for them. Just put them in an airtight container, which is super easy to do with economy of space because they’re flatter than pancakes and you’re good to go. Last weekend I used some vanilla bean ice cream and made mind-blowing ice cream sandwiches with them. I feel like 2009 was the year of the cookie, with my discovery of not one, but two perfect cookie recipes.

Photobucket

Recipe (stolen and modified from the domestic goddess herself, Martha Stewart)

Makes 36
2 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 large egg
1/4 cup molasses
Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and salt.

With an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until combined. Beat in egg and then molasses until combined. Reduce speed to low; gradually mix in dry ingredients, just until a dough forms.

Pinch off and roll dough into balls, each equal to 1 tablespoon. Roll balls in some spare sugar to coat.

Arrange balls on baking sheets, about 3 inches apart. Bake, one sheet at a time, until edges of cookies are just firm, 10 to 15 minutes (cookies can be baked two sheets at a time, but they will not crackle uniformly). Cool 1 minute on baking sheets; transfer to racks to cool completely. Store in an airtight container up to 1 week.

Boris also found out that he loves licking the flour that my kitchenaid throws out of the bowl off of the floor.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

