Delicious "light" jalapeño artichoke dip and homemade crackers

I made a bit of a feast for Craig’s work party on Saturday, BBQ pulled pork sammiches, baked beans, cornbread, cole slaw, and the most amazing chocolate chip cookies in existence. Anyway, I was sifting through cornbread recipes in my various cookbooks, and came across a recipe for crackers in Alton Brown’s I’m Just Here For More Food. It got me to thinking, as I’ve never once even thought about making my own crackers. And that’s saying something, I make my own beer, sausage, and pasta, as well as grow my own herbs and veggies.

Photobucket

Then on Sunday, we were lounging around and we didn’t have anything good to snack on, and I kept thinking about how great it would be to have some crackers and dip. Then on Monday, I got stuck doing some menial laborious chore that required absolutely no conscious brain processes, so I got to thinking about exactly what dips I’d make and how to make them healthier but still be tasty. So I got home, made crackers, and an artichoke jalapeño dip. It was very easy, chop up artichoke hearts, chop up jalapeños, mix in some low fat and fat free cream cheese, a little grated parmesan, and a tiny bit of mayo. Oh, and the crackers are pretty good too.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

