Tasty Waffles

I’ll preface this by saying that I’ve never made waffles before. In fact, I didn’t even have a waffle iron until about a month ago my dad gave me one that sort of just showed up at their house. It was also pretty gross and needed a lot of scrubbing and whatnot.

Photobucket

I’d have made them sooner, but around the time we acquired the waffle maker, Craig and I were starting our “lets try not to be as fat” diet and waffles weren’t really on the menu. When mom came and spent the weekend with us, I figured that it was a perfect time for waffles. Mostly because I really wanted them and partly because company was a good excuse. Oh, and she had a new DSLR that I figured I could take advantage of.

Photobucket

To assuage my guilt over making butter filled breakfast foods, I decided to make the toppings decidedly “light.” We had fresh strawberries and blueberries, some low fat vanilla yogurt, blueberry lemon syrup, and then of course some real grade B maple syrup.

Photobucket

While I did have issues getting the color that I wanted out of the top of them, the bottom turned out nicely, and I should have photographed that side! They could use a little more baking powder (I think mine was old) and increasing the butter in the recipe would have resulted in a crustier exterior, but I can’t justify adding more than a stick of butter for 6 waffles, so I’ll just have to get used to that part.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

