My herb garden update

Photobucket

Things are still going slowly for a few plants, my basil and mint in particular. I had to replant the basil as a couple of latish frosts all but killed the starts that I had planted earlier. I have no clue what’s going on with my mint, but for the last few weeks I’ve had the tiniest of little seedlings poking up through the soil, here’s hoping they start growing soon!
Photobucket

My gardenia is also doing shockingly well. I figured that I’d try one for $6, and Craig’s mom bought one a couple weeks before and it hadn’t died on her yet. From what I’ve read on the internet, growing gardenias in this climate is basically voodoo. I have yet to sacrifice a chicken over it, but I have recently started watering it with coffee occasionally. Poor Sue, hers is down to about 15 leaves. Mine is on it’s 2nd and 3rd blooms, and there are at least 2 more flower buds that are getting ready to pop. Mmmm, it smells so good!
Photobucket

There’s this strange cutout in the built-in seating on our deck that Craig thinks was for a grill which seems silly as grills get mighty dirty when they’re out in the rain, but it’s really the only plausible explanation so far. I figured I’d fill it in with plants and herbs so it doesn’t look so weird without a grill there.
Photobucket

My syringa pubescens sp Miss Kim seems to be doing quite well though, and I love that it’s flowering later than the normal syringa vulgaris, it gives me a longer bloom season!
Photobucket

One thought on “My herb garden update

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one with dying starts. My garden, combined with me and Tamara’s brown thumbs, have tried our best to kill our garden.

    Like

Leave a Reply

