Peach & Ginger Cobbler

Cobblers and crisps are my favorite spring and summer desserts. Pretty much anything I can jam fresh produce in, cover with a layer of some sort of topping and bake until the fruit is tender and the top has crisped makes me a little giddy.
Photobucket

For this one, I knew I wanted to do a cobbler but wasn’t sure what fruit to use. My most effective method of determining this isn’t searching online for the perfect recipe; it’s going to the grocery store and seeing what looks good and is on sale.
Photobucket

As luck would have it, it was slim pickins in terms of stone fruit and other cobbler-worthy fruits, but peaches were on sale, so I picked up 12 smallish ones. Unfortunately, they were the opposite of freestone peaches, meaning that the flesh is stuck to the pit with an iron bond. After poaching them for a few seconds to remove the skin, I tried to twist them in half, pull the halves apart, anything. It was unsuccessful in all but 2 of the 12. I ended up giving up and cutting them up like they were mangoes.
Photobucket

To keep this from getting too sweet, I added a couple tablespoons of finely minced fresh ginger to crisp up the flavor a bit. I also went a little overboard with my cobbler topping. Next time I’d put a little less buttermilk in so it’d say more solid, and use a lot less. I just went a little overboard.
Photobucket

Luckily, we had some ice cream to soak into the cake topping and mix in with the peach goop. It was awesome.
Photobucket

Leave a Reply

