Benchrest Shooting

After the rifle class that Craig and I took about a month ago, I’ve been kinda pumped to try benchrest shooting again. The last time we went, a couple years ago, my 10/22 was completely stock. I also didn’t care that much but figured I’d give it a shot to appease Craig. This time, Craig “gave”(I’m not sure if it’s mine or he’s letting me use it) me his Shilen match barrel, which is freaking awesome, and I picked up a Volquartsen hammer and a Hogue overmold stock (that would accept the larger diameter barrel). On Easter, Craig and I headed to the range.

Here it is, stock.
Photobucket

Here it is with Craig’s 10/22 build, you can also see the rad barrel. We have matching stocks now.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Here are the targets that I shot after my initial zero (making sure the crosshairs on the scope are in the same place that the bullet goes). They are all 5-round groups. I still need to get more practice so I don’t have outliers, but I’m pretty happy with how things turned out for my first real try. 🙂
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

One thought on “Benchrest Shooting

Leave a Reply

