Dutch Babies

Yum! These are also called German Pancakes. This is among the easiest recipes in existence. Scaling up and down is simple, and it’s the first recipe that I ever memorized. Ok, are you read for it? It’s very complicated.

Dutch Babies:
3/4 cup milk
3/4 cup flour
3 eggs
pinch salt
Now, it’s so easy to scale because you use 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup flour for each egg, but don’t forget salt. For my photos here, I doubled the recipe, we were going to a friend’s house to eat and I wanted to make sure there was enough.
Start by putting 1 #8 cast iron pan in the oven. Cast iron is essential to have these turn out properly. If you don’t have a cast iron pan, go to Goodwill and see if you can track down an antique one (smooth insides) and put it in the oven for a cleaning cycle to get all the Goodwill goop off of it. Season, use, thank me later. I’ve tried this with pans that were not cast iron and it just didn’t turn out properly, you really need to rely on cast iron’s heat-holding capabilities.
Ok, after your pan(s) is in the oven, turn it on to 450º and let it preheat, then let it sit for an addition 10-15 minutes, you want to make sure the pan soaks up all 450º available to it.
While your oven and pan are preheating, get to mixing your batter

Measure your flour
Photobucket

Add your milk and eggs
Photobucket

Whisk the crap out of it
Photobucket

I like to make sure it’s foamy on top, it helps the texture of the finished dutch baby.
Photobucket

Once the oven and pans have preheated, pull it/them out of the oven, and admire your beautiful seasoning, this is the less-good of my 2 pans, the one to the left is my Wagner. I ❤ Wagners.
Photobucket

Anyway, butter your pans. I add a decent size pat. My parents used to rip the paper off the end of the stick of butter and rub the end of the stick around. I don’t usually have butter that’s still in the wrapper, so i just put a pat in there, and swirl it around. Make sure to get the sides too. It makes a difference.
Photobucket

After you butter your pans, pour the batter in.
Photobucket

I love the little bits of browned butter… they’re tasty
Photobucket

Then pop the pans back into the oven. (Pretend you don’t see the black ring on the one to the left. It was a little bit of residue from what I cooked last. Didn’t affect the flavor at all)
Photobucket

Now wait 15-20 minutes. When they look like this, turn the temperature down to 350 and let them go for another 10-15 minutes.
Photobucket

Hi Lover. I love your air-filled ridges and crispy edges.
Photobucket

Now butter them on the exposed side
Photobucket

Then you sprinkle them with powdered sugar, cinnamon and sugar, or whatever the heck you want, and cut into slices like a pizza. I usually use my kitchen shears, but a knife, pizza cutter, or whatever the heck you want will work.
Photobucket

One thought on “Dutch Babies

Leave a Reply

