My eastern exposure

Having most of the windows in the house facing east is awesome. We get to see the sunrise, and I imagine in the summer, it’ll be cooler, I hope. This was our sunrise on Sunday I think; it was pretty and it made me smile, and get my camera out to take a photo.
Photobucket

The eastern facing windows are also handy for growing plants. My orchid that I bought a few days before our housewarming party and Craig promised that I would kill in the first 3 weeks is still alive, regardless of the arctic temperatures that it endures.
Photobucket

The miniature African Violet that Sue gave me has put out an obscene number of new leaves since I got it, still no flowers, but I’m expecting some eventually.
Photobucket

And my veggies and herbs have taken off. Way faster than they were supposed to, which makes me nervous, I don’t know wtf to do with them. In this photo, you’ll note that I have a row of peat plugs missing. “Why are they missing?” you may ask. Well, I had to move them because they were way too big for the little plastic dome.
Photobucket

Luckily (?) the area where I have most of my other houseplants doesn’t get nearly enough sun, and I tend to forget that they’re there(ie: don’t water) because they’re behind a wall and in a corner. Where I was going with that is that in 2 of the pots, I’ve had mass plant dieoff, so I was able to dump the dead plants and soil into the compost heap, put fresh potting soil in, and start over, this time with Cilantro. So now I have a new enormous pot sitting in the window sill because that’s the only place to put it where I have something to stick it on and I won’t forget it.
Photobucket

I’m also beginning to think that I planted some of these herbs wrong. I think that instead of 1-2 chives, I should have thrown like 20 chive seeds into each of the pots and had groups, as with cilantro and even parsley. Damn. I guess I’ll have to sow more. They look so sad by themselves. How ridiculous am I? “Would you like A CHIVE with your omelet?”
Photobucket

And my veggies…. wow. I planted them A LITTLE early, but that’s because I was expecting them to either A) die or B) take forever because I’m a noob and it’s freezing in my house. I was incorrect, they took of like nobody’s business, and now I think I’m gonna need to repot them all in yogurt and sour cream tubs. How dumb, now my kitchen window is going to look like a mixture of an old person’s refrigerator and a farm. Awesome. The tomatoes are going crazy (but they’re skinnier than the squash and cucumbers), and even the poblano and banana peppers sprouted, way before they were supposed to, like 2 weeks.
Photobucket

I’ll repost this photo of my kitchen sink so you have some sort of understanding of how crowded my sink is now.
Photobucket

Leave a Reply

