Tortilla Soup

Pronounced Tort-ill-uh Soup. After my chicken mojo burritos that I made last sunday, I had 4 chicken carcasses that were all soaked in adobo and lime. I’m not one to waste the beauty that is chicken wreckage, so I simmered them with some garlic and onion for about 8 hours and then froze the strained stock in freezer bags.

My rough recipe was:
6 vine ripe tomatoes, washed and halved
1 red bell pepper, washed, seeded and halved
3 small ears of corn, peeled
1 ripened jalapeño pepper (turned orange)
4 chicken breasts, rinsed and sprinkled with cumin and chipotle powder
1 red onion, peeled and halved
*grill all sides of the above, make sure you get nice blackish bits on them
*after grilled, put everything into a blender except the corn and chicken breasts
*add a few teaspoons of adobo paste, and a couple teaspoons of ground cumin, blend until smooth, then run through a wire mesh strainer/sieve. This takes a while, you have to scrape the strainer down quite a bit, there’s a lot of tomato and pepper skin/seeds to sort out
*let chicken rest until room temperature-ish, then slice/chop into pieces that seem like the right size
*cut the kernels off of the corn cob
*Put 2-3 quarts of chicken stock into a dutch oven, simmer slightly covered, or uncovered until reduced by 1/3-1/2.
*Add the spicy tomato mixture to the stock and simmer to blend the flavors
*about 30 minutes before serving, add in 1 14oz can of crushed tomatoes, the chicken, and the corn, continue simmering on low until it’s time to eat.
*serve with slices of lime, cheddar cheese, fried tortilla strips (I made my own out of a few 6″ corn tortillas fried at 350º), sour cream, sliced avocado, and cilantro. I thought I had good cilantro in my fridge, but then I opened up the container and it smelled weird, so I figured we’d just have tortilla soup without cilantro. It was fine.

I also had some pita that I bought a few days ago, so I got hummus at costco, and it was right next to the Jalapeño artichoke dip that I can’t resist, so I made a little appetizer plate while we waited for Craig’s mom and her friend to get here. Yes, I made those chips too. Once I had success with the tortilla strips I started looking around the kitchen for what else I could fry.
Photobucket

In addition to the soup, I made a baby greens and blood orange salad with jicama, avocado and a blood orange vinaigrette. It was kind of weird, mostly because I infused the olive oil that I used with a little too much garlic and it stepped all over the flavor of the oranges.
Photobucket

The soup:
Photobucket

In my bowl:
Photobucket

I forgot to include the avocados in the photo. I remembered them before I ate the soup though, thank god!
Photobucket

Dessert was a strange fruit salad. It was blueberries, pumello, orange, blood orange, and lime, with a vanilla simple syrup.
Photobucket

Leave a Reply

